The Academy of Medicine was founded in Singapore in 1957 to assure the maintenance of a high standard of professional and ethical practice. Professor Gordon Arthur Ransome, then Professor of Medicine in Singapore, was the first Master. It was decided that in the context of Malaysia, one organisation embracing all medical specialties would be more appropriate rather than independent colleges for separate specialties. This was a radical departure from the system which existed in the United Kingdom and Australia.

Following the separation of Singapore from Malaysia on 9th August, 1965, an autonomous Academy of Medicine of Malaysia was formed in 1966. It was registered on 22nd December 1966 under the Societies Act (1966).  The motto it adopted was “Terus Maju” and Dr Mohd Din bin Ahmad, the first Malaysian Director-General of Health, was elected its first Master. The founder members were the specialists from Malaysia who were already members of the Academy of Medicine in Singapore. 

After Independence and with the foundation of the first medical school in Kuala Lumpur, several specialty associations were established to promote professional development in their respective specialties and to organise scientific meetings and conferences. The College of Physicians and the College of Surgeons were established in 1974 and were modelled after the Royal Colleges in the United Kingdom. With so many separate organisations, professional development of medical specialists was in danger of becoming increasingly fragmented.  This concern prompted the Academy of Medicine to play the lead role in bringing the various specialties together and to enable the specialists in the country to speak with one voice.  In the 1990s the restructuring of the Academy began in earnest. After much negotiation the College of Physicians and the College of Surgeons amalgamated with the Academy of Medicine in December 1995. Over a period of time, chapters within Colleges evolved and became Colleges of the Academy. Currently there are 11 Colleges under the umbrella of the Academy of Medicine.

Colleges of the Academy

  1. College of Physicians - 1995
  2. College of Surgeons- 1995
  3. College of Paediatrics - 1999
  4. College of Anaesthesiologists - 1999
  5. College of Pathologists - 1999
  6. College of O & G - 1999
  7. College of Public Health - 2001
  8. College of Radiology - 2001
  9. College of Dental Specialists - 2009
  10. College of Emergency Physicians - 2011
  11. College of Ophthalmologists - 2014


The motto of the Academy shall be "TERUS MAJU"


To be the leading institution for professional development and postgraduate education of medical specialists in the country and the region.

Mission Statement

  • To promote and advance the highest standards of specialist practice and ethical integrity through education and professional development.
  • To commit to disseminate knowledge and information on health-related matters
  • To serve as an authority and resource to the government and public in matters related to specialist practice.


In 1989, DYMM Seri Paduka Baginda Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Yussuf Izzuddin Shah Ghafarullahu-la graciously consented to become Patron of the Academy of Medicine of Malaysia. His Royal Highness remained as the Patron until 2014.

In 2015 His Royal Highness, Sultan Dr Nazrin Muizzuiddin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah consented to be our second Patron.

Our Emblem

The Malaysian  Tiger and  Hibiscus are   national   symbols.  The  Scroll   signifies  an institution   of   higher  learning  and  bears the motto of the Academy.  The Snake and Staff is the sign of Aesculapius signifying the art of Medicine.

Building of the Academy of Medicine

The Government in 1976 granted the Colleges of Physicians, Surgeons and Family Medicine a plot of land measuring 13297 square meters on Jalan Tun Razak. In 2003 plans were made for a building to be put up on this piece of land. With the Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons becoming part of the Academy, the Academy and the Colleges had a two-third share while the Academy  of Family Physicians retained its one-third share. Construction of the building started in 2006 and the building was completed in 2008.

The Building is now fully occupied and functional. Twelve medical societies and organisations have their secretariat at the building. It also has a multipurpose hall and function rooms and these are used for continuing professional development activities and seminars.

Entry into the Academy

Ordinary Members

Entry into the Academy is via the recommendations of the Colleges. Candidates must possess a recognised postgraduate or higher qualification and are certified to be specialists by the appropriate authorities. The applications of the candidates are vetted by the respective Council of the Colleges and forwarded to the Council of the Academy for approval.  Members are entitled to use the letters ‘AM’ after they have been inducted.


Fellowship shall be open to those Ordinary Members of the Akademi Perubatan Malaysia who:

  1. have been Ordinary Members for at least ten years and are in good standing and have contributed significantly to the advancement of the practice of  medicine.
  2. may not have been Ordinary Members for ten years but have contributed significantly to  the improvement of specialist practice in the country in the last ten years and have at  least ten credited publications.

    Fellows are entitled to use the honorific FAMM after their names.

Named Lectures of the Academy

Tun Ismail Oration

In 1974, the Academy of Medicine of Malaysia inaugurated the Tun Dr Ismail Oration in memory of the late Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Tunku Abdul Rahman Lecture

In 1992, the Academy established the Tunku Abdul Rahman Lecture in memory of the first Prime Minister of Malaysia.  This lecture is held in conjunction with the joint scientific meeting of the Academy and the Ministry of Health Malaysia.

Congresses of the Academy

Malaysia-Singapore Congress of Medicine

The Congress of Medicine is held alternately between the Academy of Medicine of Malaysia and the Academy of Medicine, Singapore.  It has become the most important scientific meeting in the Academy’s calendar.  The Congress of Medicine provides an important link of kinship and close ties between Academicians in both countries.   The joint Congress of Medicine is in its 50th year in 2016. 

Ministry of Health Malaysia - Academy of Medicine Scientific Meeting (MOHAMM)

This is a biennial meeting held on the years when the Singapore-Malaysia Congress is held in Singapore.  It started in 1993 and served as a forum where local research and clinical experience could be shared. It also helped to strengthen the ties between the Academy and the Ministry of Health.

Tripartite meeting of Academies of Medicine of Malaysia, Singapore and Hong Kong

In 2010, the first Tripartite meeting of Academies of Medicine of Malaysia, Singapore and Hong Kong was held in Hong Kong. This was the result of several years of negotiations between the three parties and helped to strengthen the bonds between the three Academies.